NaNoWriMo

November, you snuck up on me.  I was perfectly content with October, the changing leaves, the crooked, and sometimes eerie smiles of jack-o’-lanterns, pumpkin flavored everything.  The only good thing about November, other than all the yummy food at Thanksgiving, is NaNoWriMo.  If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, it’s a month-long writing challenge where you write 50k words of a novel in whatever genre you choose.  I’ve participated far more years than I’ve completed a novel, but I think this year will be different.  It has to be different.  I feel it.

While I’m not looking forward to the approaching colder temps, however mild Texas winters can be, I can take comfort in bundling up in warm blankets and cranking out 2k words a day for the next 30 days.

I went over to the lovely NaNoWriMo website today, soaked up all of the nuggets of inspiration in my inbox, and looked at what I’d entered when I ‘launched’ my novel two weeks ago.  Apparently, I had an idea for a children’s book.  When I saw the title, I remembered  thinking what a great idea it was, but between a million and one distractions, I’d forgotten about it.  I know, write this stuff down!  So, day 1: I have a title for a children’s book, a general idea of what it’s about, and two other ideas floating around in my head, one for a middle grade novel and the other YA.  It’s almost midnight.  I shall write some words, probably really awful words that will be deleted later, but I still have time to get my 2k words in.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo?  I’m nyndreams.  Feel free to friend me on there.

Leave a Reply

