NaNoWriMo – Day 3

nov-calendar-page

Sleeping dog, sleeping person in recliner, empty ice cream carton (we, thankfully, don’t have any mice, but isn’t he the cutest?) – this may be what my November looks like as far as writing goes.   I know our two dogs would love nothing better than for me to just sleep with them instead of tapping away at my laptop.  And believe me, it’s tempting.  I’ve always thought that if I could be any animal it would be a cat because they sleep like 17 hours a day, or a bear because they hibernate all winter.  Alas, things still need to get done.

We’re into day 3 of NaNoWriMo, and I think I’m finally getting a feel for my characters and where I’m going with them.  The process has been slow as most of my writing tends to be.  The good thing?  I’ve already overcome the hard part, which is simply opening the document.  I know, that should be easy, but it isn’t.  Not for me, anyway.  I’ll find every reason not to until I run out of hours, and before I know it, I’ve goofed off an entire day.  I’m getting better at showing up though.

The above illustration is  from this month’s page in my Gary Patterson calendar.  Love, love, love, his work.

 

4 comments on “NaNoWriMo – Day 3

  1. aruna3 says:

    Buy why do u want d hibernation? In human lif’e,we can feel all things,enjoy n share our emotions with others.plz can u tell me dt what is NaNoWrimo.i have tried to ask d meaning from masoom jethwa bt he did not reply.

    Like

    • colorfulpen says:

      Only as a bear because they avoid the cold winter by sleeping it off. NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. The site is nanowrimo.org if you want to check it out. It’s where you commit to writing 50k words of a novel in one month. That’s only in November, but they have camp versions (campnanowrimo.org) in April and July. The word count isn’t as strict for those and it doesn’t have to be a novel either. It could be a book of poetry, a screenplay, memoir, whatever you want to work on.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

