Camp NaNoWriMo

camp nanowrimo 2012

If you’re a writer of any sort – poetry, short stories, novels – you’ve probably heard of NaNoWriMo or the camp versions known as Camp NaNoWriMo.  Since the camp versions (in April and July) allow a little more creative freedom in that there’s not a strict word count (50K) and it doesn’t have to be a novel (it can be a screenplay, memoir, poetry, whatever), the challenge seems to be a little easier to tackle.  At least for me.  I was gearing up for all of the writing I hope to do for the month of April – NaPoWriMo, Camp NaNoWriMo, and the Poem-A-Day Challenge at Poetic Asides – and hopped over to update stuff on the camp site.  I looked through past attempts and came across the one pictured.   I remembered the idea, but not writing that synopsis which I read and went, ‘huh, that’s pretty good!’  I’ve returned to this idea several times.  So many times that it demands to be written but I can’t seem to finish.  If you care to notice the little bulls eye thingamajig, it’s sitting at 10%.  Yeah, I suck.  You’ll also notice that I’ve attempted that particular project off and on since 2012.  Wow, I really suck.

For this April’s camping adventure, I hope to finish a book of poetry that I’ve been working on for a while.  It needs to be done!  I need it to be done!  Will you be participating?  If so, what will you be working on?  Let’s share in our suckiness creative genius.

Leave a Reply

