Shadows of Love

Sitting in his piece of shit car under the cover of night is when he chooses to tell me he’s leaving.  I watch the shadows cross his face as he says, “I’ll probably regret this for the rest of my life.”  I hope he does.  I should feel worse than I do, but instead I delight in the way the tree branches play with the street light.  The same tree that I carved our initials in, where we stood under its canopy and tasted our first rain-soaked kiss.  I can still taste it now if I let myself linger there too long.

Distant sounds start to crowd my head, a thousand buzzing bees rush in, and I make my exit.  After all, it’s what he wants.  To be free of me.  When I wake in the morning…

Sunlight filters in

his name on Caller ID

I just let it ring.

 

Day 3:  Poetic Asides – “(blank) of love” and a too-late haibun in shadows for Haibun Monday at dVerse.

36 comments on “Shadows of Love

  1. Let it ring, let it ring, let it ring! Nicely defiant haibun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree …let it ring…or delete the number 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve told a great, atmospheric story here, Lynn.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sabio Lantz says:

    Fascinating. Almost like fiction, but then life can be that way. You sound like you truly miss him and a bit bitter still.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Hi, Sabio. Life certainly imitates fiction, doesn’t it? Oh gosh, it’s so hard to know a person in the confines of a few lines of poetry. I can’t say that I miss him or that I’m even bitter because it’s been so long since I was that heartbroken little girl, but there must still be a tangible piece of the time we spent together that worms its way into my head. I guess hearts don’t forget even if they do heal. Thanks for stopping by and lending your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. aka_andrea says:

    I love this! I agree, let it ring…your Haiku was the perfect end to the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Grace says:

    Yes, let it ring ~ Let his shadows free you finally ~

    Liked by 1 person

  7. frankhubeny says:

    I suppose you could also put his number on your phone’s auto reject list. Nice description of a break up.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kanzensakura says:

    Good for you! He wanted to leave for whatever reasons so, let him. Excellent haibun. The senryu at the end sums it all up beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thanks, Kanzen. The haibun is fairly new to me, so I’m still learning. I kinda liked the ending part myself. I was curious about your calling it a senryu. I had to look up the difference between that and a haiku. I see that senryu deals more human nature and irony. There was definitely irony in mine. I guess the two forms can be interchangeable? Thanks so much for stopping by and offering your feedback. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Singledust says:

    ah you let him go with such elegance and beauty, I admire you so much for your grace in the words you wrote this. Self-preservation is key, never show the real me is how I like to play it too.Just let it ring, be an enigma he will never get out from under his skin!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Hi, Gina. Thanks. I didn’t feel so elegant or beautiful, more like a stumbling, bumbling mess but you get through. It’s what we do. “An enigma he will never get out from under his skin” – I like it! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      • Singledust says:

        and you are elegant though he didn’t see it then, he will see it later as he thinks of you, that’s why the phone rang. I love the power in your words though you may not feel it. Keep them guessing, we women share a secret language of understanding. Really appreciated your haibun, it said things I have been too scared to address.

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        I’m glad you enjoyed reading, and I appreciate your feedback. Writing is therapeutic and, for me, often touches on things that are hard to face head on.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Singledust says:

        i am still navigating my way through a maze of feelings and write my life story hidden in fiction and poetry, a journal of my journey and self-healing. and yes your writing today has helped me a lot. thank you again!

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        You’re very welcome. I’m so glad I could touch somebody with my words.

        Liked by 2 people

  10. jillys2016 says:

    Yuh huh! Glad you joined in, my friend! This clearly resonates universally and your writing is crisp. Jilly

    Liked by 1 person

  11. whimsygizmo says:

    This is very well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. A great story from life. Regret came soon, so let it ring,

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ava Hypatia says:

    I am so glad I guessed by your writing and tone that this was a memory from a much younger woman’s time…….if I had a teenage daughter, I would share it immediately with her and ask her to read it out loud. Then, we would talk……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

