Flight

birds-11-5-16

A storm’s brewing

in her gilded cage

the one you built

to set her upon a pedestal

only to knock her down.

Bloodied talons,

raw from reaching

for release,

a penchant for picking

you apart in her mind –

dark clouds gather

electricity in the air

along a tightrope walk

of disaster.

Poised for flight,

she pins you with that precision stare

beats her wings

and soars into the turbulent sky.

 

NaPoWriMo Day 5 – a poem based in the natural world.

 

9 comments on “Flight

  1. Singledust says:

    I read this last night and thought about birds in a cage. wanting freedom but not knowing if they can survive after long captivity. but nature adapts to its environment and your words say that here. I was taken by the way she picked at him with her talons. I love the emotions you give me from your words.

    Like

    • colorfulpen says:

      I was looking through old photos for inspiration for the natural world prompt and decided on this one. I often see birds at intersections like this and that particular night I was stunned by just how many there were and the amount of noise they made. Pretty amazing sight. Kind of mysterious. My attempt at looking at the natural world went a little Hitchcocky and metaphoric. Nature certainly adapts to its environment. More of a fight *and then* flight with those talons. Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        the sky as backdrop is stunning even more so I know now that its from your own collection. really amazing sight they way they gather that way. that Hitchcock story can give me nightmares. Too many in a flock is scary. In Auckland where I lived for a while, I used to love to watch the birds migratory flights, and when they gathered in a field the grass was covered over by their formation as if the came to attend a convention. Lovely image and thought Lynn!

        Like

      • colorfulpen says:

        It is amazing the way they gather like that. Interesting the way most are so evenly spaced, too. The Birds was pretty scary. Auckland, that’s cool. Are you still in New Zealand? I bet that was an amazing sight. Thank you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        Sadly I have left the natural beauty of New Zealand. I live in Malaysia now, and she has her won appeal. Birds are scary! Especially in huge flocks, but the ones I saw were in such a beautiful formation, it took my breath away. They have some secret code or DNA pattern that they follow I suppose, to be so well spaced out and within a formation.

        Like

      • colorfulpen says:

        That’s right. I’d read your ‘about me’ before and forgot that you live in Malaysia. Hmm, large flocks are maybe safety in numbers or just a social thing like people? Not sure, but they are scary like that. Depending on the formation or whether they’re sitting or flying, I think it has to do with efficiency, wing span, and timing. I guess a natural instinct.

        Like

      • colorfulpen says:

        Gina, I was trying to respond to the comment you made on Tin Man and somehow your comment got sent to trash before I was done 😦 Your words are always so kind and give me much to think about. I want to cry! WordPress secretly hates me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        oh really! yes I think wordpress hates me and my ipad too, they eat up my words, or maybe because my words are so tasty! I loved the tin man poem, I felt you used the elements together so well, love the play of words like that, and the Tin Man, he has a situation we all can relate to some way or the other. I do love your words!

        Like

      • colorfulpen says:

        Your words are definitely tasty. Delectable bits of goodness even. I’m so glad you liked the Tin Man. I appreciate your thoughtful comments and insight.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

