In the Swamp

Hold my hand while we bop down to the swamp

where all the cool kids are doing the crocodile rock

A stone hits the water and the animals jump

keep your eyes peeled, watch out for that stump

Did you happen to notice the time?  The tick, the tock

It’s half past somewhere, in the dark with no clock.

 

In a tangle of trees, fog dances in a gray velvet dress.

 

They say Friday night is the best to come out on top

But Billy ran from wayward ghosts and didn’t bother to stop

Frogs play banjos and the crickets chirp

owls cry a warning, the water bubbles and slurps

we sit back among friends, strangers to most, the swamp

digs up dreams and shatters your hopes.

We had them, you and I, like alligators in a bag

until the weight of the world started to sag.

 

In a tangle of trees, fog dances in a gray velvet dress.

 

We’ll stay together, burning lanterns filled with oil

tread lightly until our feet hit the soil

turn left, now turn right, don’t go in a circle

our shadows bop out of sight blue, black, and purple

we’ll crocodile rock until our eyes go blind

stomping and hopping, leave this place behind.

 

In a tangle of trees, fog dances in a gray velvet dress.

 

Day 11 NaPoWriMo – write a Bop.

dVerse Poets Pub – hosted by Lillian.  Top songs the year you were born, or within 5-10 years after.

So many good ones to choose from but I went with Crocodile Rock by Elton John, #1 in 1973.

 

 

24 comments on “In the Swamp

  1. frankhubeny says:

    I remember that song. It makes me wonder what “bop” is anyway. I like the “fog dances” in your song.

    Like

    • colorfulpen says:

      Pretty cool song. I wanted to do something for “You’re So Vain”. Love that song, but I couldn’t get the lyrics out of my head enough to write properly. Then I wanted something romantic and moody. “Killing Me Softly with His Song” would’ve fit perfectly but again a no go. I guess the fun song won. And leave it to me to add a little bit of creepy to something light and fun. Well, I chose to use the word “bop” mainly because of the poetic form there. And bop, or bebop, I think comes from jazz music, like the style of jazz. Thanks! I’m glad you liked the fog.

      Like

  2. lillian says:

    Love this combination of the NAPOWRIMO prompt and my prompt. Especially like these lines
    “We had them, you and I, like alligators in a bag
    until the weight of the world started to sag.”
    and I do love the refrain as well.
    I know exactly what you mean about having the actual song in your head and that impeding the write. I’ve been trying to write a poem that is a sequel to Puff the Magic Dragon and I just keep hearing the song itself! 🙂
    I also loved “You’re So Vain”….
    Great job with this one!!! So glad you posted to the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Waltermarks says:

    Elton John really rocked. The addition of the gator swamp helped too. Images of kids dancing in the fog of the swamp gives it a creepy vibe, great

    Like

  4. kanzensakura says:

    Fun song – the critters with banjos and such makes me smile.

    Like

  5. jillys2016 says:

    You do such wonderful poeming! Of course, now that song is in my head… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. wolfsrosebud says:

    Fun read. Made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Singledust says:

    what an amazing line of words to bop to! I love this song so much and now you have created a special place for crocodiles in my imagination. beautiful take on the propmt Lilian gave us. sadly I have had no time to think out my song. this is like a new song Lynn!

    Like

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you! This prompt was a lot of fun. It was hard to narrow down just one song from a list of so many greats from the time. Music has always played a big part in my life. I got my first cassette when I was five, something from the Bee Gees. I remember my favorite part of the day in elementary school was when we got to listen to music. I’d listen to Leo Sayer on a little record player in the classroom. Both of my brothers who are much older than me had so many albums and I’d borrow their stuff to listen to. I pretty much grew up on rock ‘n roll but I can appreciate most genres of music. I’m glad you liked my crocodile song. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        i do love music so much too! but have been too busy to sit and write the prompt out, in fact music has inspired me to write many of the stories and not just poetry. Leo Sayer! Oh I remember him too, lovely voice! I think we would like the same songs. I loved to record songs off the radio on a cassette player. and lie on the floor of my room after school just listening and dreaming and writing stories. so yes I too love all sorts of genres too!

        Like

      • colorfulpen says:

        I totally understand. We lead busy lives. I love how songs can inspire stories of our own. By the way, you were the inspiration for Moonstruck. We had talked about our love for the sky, and it made me think of how it would see your inner beauty and interact with you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        I read that! but most times I read writing a few times before I comment so that I get it in my head and heart. I am so touched you say I was the inspiration. yes we both have such love for the sky and nature in all her wonder. but your words were way too beautiful for me. I am really humbled by your lovely heart.

        Like

      • colorfulpen says:

        You’re the beautiful one.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. This was a magic read! So many delicious word pictures. I especially liked “fog danced in a grey velvet dress”. BRAVO

    Like

  9. Kathy Reed says:

    How fun! I love how you put this together…such a talent, Elton John..and be bop goes with crocodile rock anytime!

    Like

Leave a Reply

