Waiting on Love

Love eases the weariest mind

it takes someone who’ll hold your heart

but how long will it be to find

waiting is the hardest part.

 

Enough heartache have I endured

it’s not ever a simple game

the only love I want is yours

when will I ever be the same

 

I’ll wait until I’m in your arms

and trust that the day will soon come

when you’ll undo me with your charm

our tender love song you will strum

 

My beloved will whisper soft

on love’s splendor, we’ll stay aloft.

 

dVerse – Meeting the Bar hosted by Kim.  Today’s challenge (and, boy, was it a challenge) was to choose a modern pop song and rewrite it as a Shakespearean sonnet.  I tried to use Shakespearean language but my brain wasn’t having any of that.  Can you guess what song it is?

36 comments on “Waiting on Love

  1. kim881 says:

    I know it was a challenge, Lynn, but well worth it – what a lovely sonnet! You and Bekkie chose the same song and they are different! I love them and it’s double the fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you, Kim. I love these music inspired prompts. Oh! We did? I think I remember reading Bekkie’s last night but was too tired to comment. I’ll have to go back and read it this morning.

      Liked by 1 person

      • kim881 says:

        It’s so weird writing and commenting on comments at different times. I’m never sure what time it is for other people. I was going to bed as others were just getting going! It’s 5 pm here and your day is probably just starting, Lynn! Is it Friday or Saturday for you?

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        Ah, I just now read your ‘About Me’ on your site. I was thinking Norfolk, as in Virginia. I had no idea it was England. And you’ve lived in Ireland as well? That’s my dream vacation. It’s currently Friday morning, almost noon here.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Grace says:

    Charming love sonnet ~ Thanks for joining the challenge and wishing you happy easter!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jade M. Wong says:

    Awww, such a sweet sonnet, it made me swoon ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. frankhubeny says:

    The word “splendor” made me think of “Love is a many splendored thing”, but I don’t think that’s right.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is a lovely poem, but no idea what the song is. I haven’t been very good at the guessing part 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It must be a tender love song, but I’ve no idea what it is. Lovely sonnet though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      It’s actually a kind of upbeat song as far as tempo but, yeah, he’s tired of waiting on love and wants someone to call his own and tender arms to hold him tight, a ‘soft voice to talk to’ him at night. 😉 There’s some hints there.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. What an awesome response to an inspiring challenge, Lynn! I am a Phil Collins fan and I think you did justice to “You Can’t Hurry Love”.

    Like

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you, Gina! That was a tough challenge, but you know I’m always up for a good challenge. I wanted so badly to be able to rewrite it in Shakespearean language as the prompt also suggested, and I did try, but it was too much for my brain. I didn’t know you were a Phil Collins fan. I like his solo stuff better than when he was with Genesis.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Charley says:

    The Supremes as well. Great take on it. Better than actually listening to the song!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jillys2016 says:

    Bravo! You did this wonderfully! The couplet is perfection. The is has been a riot of a prompt 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. whimsygizmo says:

    Those last two lines are just so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. First I’m amazed you follow my other blogs, Lynn! Thank you! Kim’s comment is wrong we didn’t pick the same song or group! I love “You Can’t Hurry Love!” Wonderful job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Why amazed? I think your writing is beautiful. I’d read your sonnet and was going to come back to it later to comment. When I saw Kim’s comment on mine, I remember thinking that I didn’t recognize yours as being the same. And it wasn’t. I like “You Can’t Hurry Love” too. I probably like the Beatles even better!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I don’t know why. ~giggle~ You are very kind! Sorry this took so long to answer I’ve been out bike riding. I love the Beatles, they were the first thing I thought of. Hope to have more time to write with my groups this week. Hugs!

        Liked by 2 people

      • colorfulpen says:

        Bike riding sounds like fun. The Beatles are awesome! It took me a while to pick a song. When most of the music you grew up on is ’80s hair metal, it’s kinda hard to find something that works, so you have to dig a little deeper. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • I love hair metal too but the prompt was “pop” so that’s why I picked Beatles. It would be fun to write a “hair metal” sonnet and try to guess those too wouldn’t it? Bike riding is the best and it puts you in perfect health.

        Liked by 2 people

      • colorfulpen says:

        Another hair metal fan?! Right on! A hair metal sonnet, ha! That would be fun. Think about all the rock ballads there are. Lots of ways one could go. I have a pretty purple 21-speed but it’s hanging upside down from hooks in the garage ceiling. Great place for it, right? :/ I totally need to get it down and take it out for a ride.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Yes you should! You will be so happy when you do it. Bicycles seem to put smiles of people’s faces I see it all of the time while I smile back. Purple is a great color!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

