Poe-tic

Edgar Allan Poe

never did he have a foe.

If not for that raucous Raven

who bolsters his loss of a fair maiden.

 

NaPoWriMo Day 14 – Write a Clerihew.  Clerihew is a four-line biographical poem that pokes fun at a famous person.  Rhyme scheme:  AABB. 

This is the first I’ve heard of this form.  I thought, ‘oh! easy peasy.’  I already knew I’d write about Poe but didn’t count on being stuck for the next three lines once I sat down to write.  Too little sleep and too much caffeine.  Must practice some more with this four-line fiend.

 

 

8 comments on “Poe-tic

  1. Singledust says:

    nice lines! never heard of this form before too, but you rhymed it well. try another? but do sleep first ok. do you need me to sing you a lullaby?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jillys2016 says:

    I love this! (Also love Poe – ‘Alone’ is my fav!) You did a terrific job with this prompt. I didn’t even try – ran dry! HA!

    Like

Leave a Reply

