Postcard

White dress flowing in the breeze

drink in hand

bare feet skimming the sand

the warm sun teases your skin

your smile that glows from within.

“Wish you were here!” in your elegant script.

It’s all of you that I have left

tucked inside the box full of jewelry I’ll never wear

and memories we shared.

I wish you were still here.

 

dVerse – Postcard poems.  Another one just because I liked this prompt so much.

 

14 comments on “Postcard

  1. poignant and full of feeling

    Liked by 1 person

  2. whimsygizmo says:

    Gah. Got me right in the gut. And heart. Perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I thought about the postcard my mother-in-law sent us years ago when she and some other members of the family went to the Cayman Islands. She’s been gone almost 3 years now – cancer. :/ She’s still very much missed by anyone she touched in life.

      Like

  3. jillys2016 says:

    I, too, love micropoetry! I think I wrote several. This is heart wrenchingly wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Yours was excellent…or eggcellent. I loved that shopping list! I wrote this one thinking about the post card that my mother-in-law sent us when she visited the Cayman Islands. She passed away about 3 years ago and still very much missed.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Charley says:

    Nice voice. It holds together well and reads to the heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Vijita says:

    the emotion of missing someone is so loud…. beautiful write!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. maria says:

    Aw, too much longing in this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

