Personal Library

Double doors lead to other worlds

a hush among a thousand voices

pad along wooden floors

peaceful in its controlled chaos.

Cinnamon and leather permeate the air

fingertips on weathered spines

long legs fold into a perfect chair

taste the ink on your lips, in your mind.

The crinkle of pages falls away

between dawn’s bright chirps

and the wrinkle of sun fading

straight past darkened shadows

to the sanctuary of words

that are awaiting.

 

NaPoWriMo Day 25 – Explore a small, defined place.

 

 

 

10 comments on “Personal Library

  1. Singledust says:

    I find writing in the same place each day gives me safety and comfort. its a small space I can fold myself into n be almost hidden from everyone. lovely words Lynn evoking a little melancholy in me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      It’s nice to have your our own little sanctuary, isn’t it? I think I’ve found that same comfort in my own writing lately. Sometimes I have to take it wherever I can get it because there’s so many distractions. How has your week been?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        thats a lovely analogy Lynn! comfort in your own writing. I feel that too most of the time. though on the blog its mostly fantasy and fiction writing it is a comfort. my week has been up n down my sweet friend! and yours?

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        Your words are certainly a comfort to those who read them. Ah, up and down, as weeks will go, right? My week has been okay. I’m kind of looking forward to an upcoming book festival this weekend. Hopefully I’ll have an opportunity to attend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        I think I have just done too much this week. so need to get me time. but the weekend has lots of social commitments I doubt I will get that time. plus been busy trying to put some of my writing together into a book. I hope u get to the book festival. I just love those!

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        After a busy week, or even a busy day, I feel the need for some me time, so I totally understand. Ooo, will it be a book of poetry or something else?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        Exactly how I feel then Lynn! I have been writing for a year now , everything on this blog and some pieces get good comments and I have been encouraged to put the poetry pieces together so am going to try that, time however is not on my side! but yes I think it will be a book of love poetry or love notes, some of my sweet whispers etc. My friends laugh that I write love poetry while not being in love!! I tell them I am in love with life and with words! Happy weekend Lynn!

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        Sounds like it’ll be a wonderful book. A book of your heart in more ways than one. And you don’t have to be in romantic love to write that kind of poetry. Your response to them is accurate of one who explores life much deeper. Happy weekend to you, too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        I am touched and grateful for the words my friend

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

