Into the Sea

I’ll fling my love into the sea

quell any demons that come between

these waves that we ride

mysterious and wild

our love is never ending.

I’ll fling my love into the sea

its depth a raging beast

wicked thirst and hunger

your spell that I’m under

drown out the agony

I’ll fling my love into the sea.

 

NaPoWriMo Day 29 – Find a concrete noun in one of your favorite poems. Free-write associations for that word.  Use your original word and your free-writing results to write a new poem.  I chose “Annabel Lee”, one of my favorite poems by Edgar Allan Poe, and the concrete noun was sea.

5 comments on “Into the Sea

  1. Singledust says:

    mesmerizing read

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jillys2016 says:

    POE seems to be showing up a bit in this prompt 🙂 This is so well written – I want to tack it on my frig and read it daily. Your talent is one of the highlights of my day. The feral feel of the words demon, wild, raging, beast… they join with the flinging to create an image of a love undeniable.
    Going back to read again… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charley says:

    If only Poe had had such passion available to him! Ah, but then he would’ve been banned… and possibly even more popular today. The words you’ve woven have a raw heat to them. A lovely poem indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

