Haibun Monday

Early December.  Cool enough to have the heat on.  Lord knows we’ve steamed up the windows with our own heat in the years we’ve been together.  I smile a little at the memories, and the new ones we’re about to make.  Two hundred miles from everyone and everything we know to start anew.  The radio has become boring with its constant chatter.  I pick one of my favorite CDs.  Who’s the one that makes you happy? I sing out loud to you, cranking up the volume.  After a minute, a thumping sound coming from one of the tires has us limping along in stop and go traffic.  We stop to fix it as soon as we can.  A minor setback in our journey of new beginnings, but I’m somehow comforted by the fact that you’re the one by my side.  The song plays on.  Looking out the window and then at you, I can’t help but continue to sing along.  Tentatively at first, and then more assuredly when you reach for my hand.  Without words, we draw strength from each other.

Winter blooms brightly

the cold driven out by heat

journey to a dream.

 

dVerse – I’m late for Haibun Monday again, but here’s my attempt.

 

 

 

 

8 comments on “Haibun Monday

  1. frankhubeny says:

    Nice memory of that road trip, flat tire, looking out the window, looking at each other and singing together with increased assurance. It is the first time I heard Tesla. That was a very nice song. One part of the lyrics stood out for me: “It ain’t the love you choose. It’s the love you live.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thanks, Frank. It took me a little bit to come up with something for this week’s haibun. I’ve always liked Tesla’s music. The first time I heard one of their songs was at a record store in the mall where I grew up. The album was Mechanical Resonance. I think the song at the time was “Little Suzi.” Luckily, the whole album was good. I took it home and played it over and over again.

      Like

  2. Janice says:

    The warmth and love in this piece is palpable … and the song is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kanzensakura says:

    Perfection! The song is great but what is even greater is the love shared and you singing along with the song. Excellent haiku at the end as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There is nothing better than a long drive with someone special to start singing…. wonderful memory even with the setback…

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I love long drives and singing along to some tunes. Yes, all the better with someone special. It was definitely a turning point, no place else I’d rather have been.

      Like

Leave a Reply

