‘Til Death

Dinner is fraught with silence every eve

’tis better that way, my plan I can weave

Perhaps just a well-placed blow to the head?

No matter, as long as he ends up dead

 

Yes, I delight in my murderous plot

send him straight down below where he can rot

demons will find him and pick him apart

bitter on their tongue, they won’t find a heart

 

I leave the table, my chambers do wait

one more appetite he wishes to sate

this flesh is not yours, I’ll rid me of you!

fate written in blood, not even a clue

 

Steady in the shadows, I wait no more

a glint of steel for the one I abhor

I watch life drain as he takes his last breath

hollow, purple-stained beautiful in death

 

dVerse –  writing dramatic monologues for Tuesday Poetics.

 

9 comments on “‘Til Death

  1. rosemawrites says:

    oooooooh. wooow. this fits the prompt perfectly. haunting. dark. yet so goood!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. frankhubeny says:

    I like the second stanza best with the idea of rotting down below where even the demons will be disappointed by his bitter taste and lack of heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. colorfulpen says:

    Thank you, Frank. I think that’s my favorite part of it, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kim881 says:

    Ooh, Lynn! You have written a deliciously murderous monologue. Those opening words, ‘Dinner is fraught with silence every eve’ do not bode well and then they are followed by ‘
    Perhaps just a well-placed blow to the head?’ – nasty! And then condemning him to demons! My favourite stanza has to be:

    ‘Steady in the shadows, I wait no more
    a glint of steel for the one I abhor
    I watch life drain as he takes his last breath
    hollow, purple-stained beautiful in death’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I was a little unsure about this one. I’d initially had a different idea in mind but then this came out. It just flowed so I went with it and hoped it was okay. I’m really glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a deliriously dark.. love the way you have used the rhythm in this… Beware to bore a woman I would say.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

