Upon Waking

Sing in the shower but not that well

who does that at this ungodly hour?

who can tell?

Trip over daylight out of place

baby blue birdsong, delicate lace.

Chip my pen on some words

a downward spiral

ignore my to-do list

settle for survival.

I should put on my shoes

go for a run

say a little prayer

that inspiration might come.

Lace up words with life

let them run across my tongue

settle spiraling lists

chip away at their sum…

do this,

do that…

incompleteness –

it’s like an itch you can’t scratch.

 

dVerse – List poetry with Victoria as the host.

 

 

26 comments on “Upon Waking

  1. jillys2016 says:

    5:30 am. Really like this, but work calls. I’ll be back later to read & comment more thoroughly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “ignore my to-do list / settle for survival.” Great line!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. frankhubeny says:

    Lists are like an itch you can scratch (off). Once I make my lists I relax and forget what was on the list.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jillys2016 says:

    I love how this poem spills like a downward spiral, drawing my eyes down the page. And what you do with ‘words’ is uniquely clever; chip my pen and lace them up… Superb blending of the writing into life! Great write, my friend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Waltermarks says:

    I love lists. Write it all down, then lose it. I like the, “Lace up words with life let them run across my tongue”. Great metaphor. Hope mine stop in time. They’re so easy to srart

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the idle thoughts that carry me along through this delightful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lace up your words, love that after the running… very nice sentiment

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’d love to HEAR this recited.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sanaarizvi says:

    This is incredibly powerful!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Singledust says:

    i make lists too, and lists from lists! endless things to do and never having enough time – i do like the idea of an early morning run though I am afraid of the dark! very inspirational list Lynn!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

