Kitchen Comforts

My mother-in-law’s kitchen held a certain country charm.  Red and white checkered curtain over wooden shutter blinds.  Chicken décor occupied every available space.  It also held a lot of warmth.  Warmth in the way her easy smile and soft eyes greeted anyone who entered.  And in the way visiting meant waking up to the smell of coffee, the sound of bacon sizzling in a pan.  My mouth would water before I ever made it to the kitchen where we’d pile our plates with crispy bacon, biscuits with homemade gravy, the softest, fluffiest scrambled eggs, and fresh fruit salads of peach, strawberry and kiwi.  I miss her breakfasts and the love she poured into them.

Early morning sun

mixes with palette of love

and warm summer winds.

 

dVerse – heating up the kitchen on Haibun Monday.

 

8 comments on “Kitchen Comforts

  1. frankhubeny says:

    Every recipe with an ingredient of love seems unique.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thanks for reading, Frank. I have to say the haibun prompts kick my butt. They really make me think but I always feel like I’m barely skimming the surface of ideas. Like this one, after I wrote it, I thought of at least two other memories of food/cooking and went, ‘oh yeah, why didn’t I think of that?’ You guys at dVerse rock my socks off with your poetic genius.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Singledust says:

    Lynn this was so precious, writing about a moment captured in the mind and in the heart, and through food, the greatest pleasure we partake of together as a community. And that you write it with such simple beauty I felt like I experienced that love too for me in that warm kitchen. I love the haiku, its so light , carrying love on its wings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thanks, Gina. This one was hard for me. Heck, every haibun so far has really made me think and dig up memories that I probably never would’ve thought of otherwise. I’ve taken up journaling again because I’ve come to the conclusion that there’s so much I forget or have forgotten and don’t pay close enough attention to.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        I did the same too Lynn, journal so I would not forget the good things I have in life as my thoughts always seem to go back to the bad and sad, journaling takes us back to a time we can still remember who we really are and the life we want to lead going forward.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. ZQ says:

    Thanks for introducing us to a pleasant person and memory.
    ZQ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sabio Lantz says:

    Sweet memories and a wonder “thank you!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

