If You Were a Poem

If you were a poem

would you be an ode

showered with praise

beautiful words in a serenade

or maybe a sonnet

romantic in nature

live eternal in hearts,

quicken pulse to start,

devour surging lust

from dawn ’til dusk

or even a senryu

to express emotion

evoked by you – simply being –

never the bawdy limerick

though your humor shines quick,

like the brightest star in the skies.

Oh, if you were a poem

my pen would flow them,

a steady stream of words

to flood a million blank pages.

 

dVerse – It’s OLN at the Pub.

45 comments on “If You Were a Poem

  1. Love the idea of someone being a poem… reminds of a prompt we run once on

    This poem is…

    and then you write it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great concept, very clever but also so full of emotion. I love it’s beauty Lynn.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jerennazuto says:

    Wow! I didn’t expect this. It was wonderful, how you compared each technique with a quality, the ending was such a great fit!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Person, poem – we are written and written about, daily.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. MarinaSofia says:

    That’s a lovely thought, comparing a person to a poem. I’d probably be a villanelle – because I am constantly repeating myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. scotthastiepoet says:

    So sorry, unexpected visitors last night have made me rather late in responding to your piece. Such lyrically here, conjured effortlessly…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jade M. Wong says:

    Aww neat idea, comparing someone to a poem. Makes me wonder what kind of poems we all would be?

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thanks, Jade. πŸ™‚ Hmm…just from what I can tell, I think you’d be a romantic sonnet or an ode because your words seem to exude a beauty that can only come from within. I’d probably be a bawdy limerick, ha.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. A neat idea, cleverly presented. I want to be a limerick!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. thotpurge says:

    Good question.. a haiku..a moment captured…then gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lynn__ says:

    Yes, senryu…a human haiku! Lovely thoughts…reminds me of old hymn, that oceans of ink would run dry and the parchment of sky would not hold all the words.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Bodhirose says:

    You’ve got us all wondering what form of poetry we would be…hmm will have to give that some thought. I enjoyed this very much!
    Gayle ~

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sanaarizvi says:

    This is so incredibly romantic!❀️ I wish I had written this! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sabio Lantz says:

    If I were a poem, I’d not be pretty.
    I’d be a haibun – a terse thoughtful verse
    cavorting around the crassity of life.

    Very fun poem — great comparisons — stirring our imagination. Cool. Wonderful creative cavorting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Haibuns are tricky. I have a tough time with that form because it really makes think. For me, digging up some memory that’s worthy of a paragraph of prose is hard. And I almost always think of a better idea after I’ve posted the initial one. I’m glad you liked this, Sabio!

      Like

      • Sabio Lantz says:

        The older we are, the more memories to dig around in, eh? I’ve got a big pile!

        May I be so bold to ask a question, no one else did, so maybe they get it:

        You wrote:
        “Oh, if you were a poem

        my pen would flow them,

        a steady stream of words

        to flood a million blank pages.”

        I could see it written:
        “Oh, if you were a poem

        my pen would flow a steady stream of words

        to flood a million blank pages.”

        I did not understand your “them”.

        Like

      • colorfulpen says:

        There are more memories to dig up. Most I don’t think about until the haibun comes around and stirs some up for me.

        Some of the lines rhyme and some don’t. I liked how poem and them sounded as an end rhyme. And “them” refers to the words. ‘Oh, if you were poem, my pen flow them, a steady stream of words…”
        Maybe it makes more sense now?
        I like how you changed it there, too. Thanks for asking. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sabio Lantz says:

        Oh, thanx, I see what you meant by the “them”

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Imelda says:

    Now i’m thinking what kind I am. πŸ™‚ I enjiyed reading this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. rosemawrites says:

    awwww. now this make me think what poem i will be. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Bryan Ens says:

    Love this idea of people as poetry

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Singledust says:

    what would you be? at an open mic night we were asked to write a poem about ourselves. this would be a lovely intro poem. your skills floor me!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Ooo, you do open mic? I’ve considered that before but I’m terribly shy. Maybe one of these days. And what would I be? Hmm…maybe something short and sweet, or something fun like a limerick. I’ve always liked the villanelle form since I first discovered it years ago, so maybe that.

      Like

      • Singledust says:

        I like your skeltonic verse the best! I copied it in my journal, the Trusted Tree one – I think that describes you, not the tree but that form of poetry! Of course in my humble opinion that is. I love the villanelle! But I am finding it hard to write, still I try in my private journal. I would love to read one of yours, do you have one here? I have just started being brave to go to open mic, did one in April / May. a repeat of teh same poem. Scary but fun!

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        I do have a villanelle on here. It’s “Middle of the Night” back in April.

        Like

  18. You are a poem filling up pages with your words made flesh! (PS I have chronic health issues and still catching up to the last OLN). xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

