Into the Storm

Storm dance,

a lull in sound of an echo

in a bubble;

stillness melts my grin.

Drizzle shimmer-twists

a balloon, skips across

spring-green breeze, spills

ghost-giggle rose petals.

Dawn journeys in a whisper-jar,

leaves open scars to

breathe shadows,

spark cloud-curls to cue rain.

 

dVerse – Quadrille Monday hosted by De, aka Whimsygizmo, with the word storm (all of the words so far).

34 comments on “Into the Storm

  1. Janice says:

    I like ‘leaves open scars to
    breathe shadows,’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Magnificent ! A feast of imagery that ignited my mind with every phrase.

    a lull in sound of an echo

    ghost-giggle rose petals.

    Dawn journeys in a whisper-jar,

    Thank you Lynn, keep an eye on the door.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Singledust says:

    so much excitement in a storm! love it Lynn!. though I fall asleep I love stromy nights

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You do a great job in massaging the words together. Love to be able to quench a storm

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rosemawrites says:

    oh wow. the way you weaved words. the gentle weaving worked so well

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful imagery that adds up to emotional impact. “… Cloud curls to cue rain…”. Love those ‘C’ sounds.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jillys2016 says:

    An echo in a bubble… Sent my imagination in many directions. Marvelous phrase! Great job of using all the words, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. frankhubeny says:

    I liked the idea of the storm dancing in the first line.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Charley says:

    One of my litmus tests for a poem is to read it aloud (another is how it appears, visually), but in the case of your poem… reading it aloud. Enjoyable!

    Like

  10. whimsygizmo says:

    YES! Awesomeness! Great use of all the words! I especially love:
    “stillness melts my grin.” and the idea that you can “breathe shadows.”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This was a romp with a punchline. Loved it

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sumana Roy says:

    “Dawn journeys in a whisper-jar,

    leaves open scars to

    breathe shadows,”…love this and the dancing beginning….

    Like

  13. lillian says:

    I want some ghost-giggles rose petals!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. sanaarizvi says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeously penned!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Sabio Lantz says:

    colorfulpen,

    A mishmash of phrases (all, in themselves wonderful), but as if blown from here and there by a storm to all end up on one yard but belonging to others. Interesting

    In such cases, I often read the comments (as I did all yours) to see if others discuss some level of meaning or theme or message or feel that I miss. but instead, I usually see just compliments of certain phrasing and feel. Then I think, I am not alone. They are enjoying the montage.

    PS: Glad you like Tim Minchin as I do. You were the only one to read that far and only one to click the link. Most folks just speed by.

    Like

    • colorfulpen says:

      Trying to keep the 44 word constraint and use all of the past prompt words (what is it, like 30 something?) and have it make sense is a challenge in itself.
      No hugely deep meaning to this one. For me, it’s a little whimsical especially the way drizzle lights on a floating balloon in the breeze. As storms go, they can be noisy and frightening, but quiet in a bubble. There’s usually calm before a storm. The stillness can be just as unnerving. Dawn comes in on a whisper (the same could be said for the night), a new day, old wounds heal, and then a cleansing rain.
      Poetry is so subjective. If people enjoy the words that’s great. As a reader, I can analyze the hell out of some poetry all day long, but sometimes, I just like the way certain words sound together, or a vivid image, or an emotion I get from the words.
      Tim Minchin is hilarious! I’m glad you shared that link. It brought the poem to life even more. Have you seen the video of his commencement speech at UWA?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

