What Are Friends For?

Your first wrinkle and a bad hair day

I’m sorry to say

doesn’t get any better

on your fortieth birthday.

Blow out your candles

there’s nothing we can’t handle

we’ll sing the blues

and then buy new sandals.

No money, you say?

That’s okay

we’ll stay in and share

a bottle of chardonnay.

 

dVerse – Kim is hosting Poetics where we’re writing poems to save someone’s life.

30 comments on “What Are Friends For?

  1. Janice says:

    I like this lighthearted guide to surviving a 40th..I’m not sure why but I liked the line about buying new sandals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosross says:

    Absolutely. Deft touch.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kim881 says:

    For me it was my sixtieth – I enjoyed being forty and fifty but sixty… I’d buy boots instead of sandals!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonder if there’s a great poet of the universe, or if we are all literally on the same wavelength. I awoke to Davy’s piece on socks, I’ve just read Lynn’s delightful poem featuring footwear in which Janice was drawn to the line about sandals and I’ve just posted about a man with one shoe and one sock ! love the poem and the coincidences.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lynn__ says:

    Too cute…sandals AND chardonnay should keep blues away! You made my day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jillys2016 says:

    Aw! This is so wonderfully written! Nothing that the blues can’t cure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Charley says:

    Or two. A lovely friend-helping-a-friend-through-a-crisis poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. frankhubeny says:

    Nice rhyming with a message of one friend staying with and helping another.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. MarinaSofia says:

    Friendship is what keeps us sane no matter how many birthdays we accumulate.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ω says:

    I was just thinking this morning that I’m about to turn 40 and I have no friends who will throw me a party — not even one friend who will take me out to lunch. Not even an acquaintance who will remember. Not even a mother who is capable of keeping the days straight in order to remember her daughter’s birthday. Nevertheless, I’m going to make sure it’s a blast. I learned a long time ago to be my own best friend, and even my only friend when necessary.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I waited to have a big party until I was 50… and then I had a perfect party… danced all night.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ahhh 40! Life is just beginning!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Chardonnay always helps birthdays go by more easily. (It just takes more as you grow older and older and older and….). Great poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. lillian says:

    LOVE the whimsical attitude of this one! And so I’m off to buy some new sandals 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Singledust says:

    you just described me and my girlfriends! its lovely when we have people around us that love us through all our bad hair and bad feeling days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

