He’s a Sport

My dad retired from the military, went to night school, and did odd construction jobs, but the thing I remember most was his job as a warehouse manager for a sporting goods store.  Every six months I sported the latest Nike sneakers, had new swimsuits in the summer, and shiny tennis rackets when I started tennis lessons.  For the three years that I played girls’ softball, my dad would practice playing catch with me.  I appreciated his involvement.

Because my dad had the opportunity to meet coaches from the local universities, we went to a lot of college basketball games.  It’s a wonder I’m not deaf from all the shrill, two-fingered, ear-splitting whistling that he did.

As an adult, I discovered through some of my dad’s old high school information that he’d wanted to be a sportswriter.  At that point, I’d been writing for a while, and was thrilled to know that we shared another common interest.  I asked him why he never pursued it.  He merely shrugged as if it was no big deal, and said, “Oh, I don’t know.”  He’s lived a full life even if some of his dreams weren’t realized.  I’m still his biggest fan.

Wildflowers scatter

the sound of spring in daydreams –

catch a memory.

 

dVerse – Bjorn is hosting Haibun Monday where he asks us to write about sport.  I went a little over the usual required one paragraph (sorry!) which doesn’t happen often but this took me way back and I have lots of fond memories of sports and time spent with my dad.

 

 

 

 

47 comments on “He’s a Sport

  1. emangarduque says:

    oh lovely memories with your dad. great write.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The haiku is just beautiful, Lynn, and a great tribute to your dad.

    Like

  3. Love the portrait of your dad, and how you can connect through your interests. It sounds like you had a rich childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great memories of your dad. Lots of haibuns today about dads and sport and how we connect with them. Yours sounds like great fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Simply beautiful, in form, emotion, imagery. My first read of the day and I’m grateful. The pre-narrative could’ve been twice as long such was the pleasure I derived from reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lillian says:

    “…catch a memory..” Somehow this ending to your haiku comes right back to playing catch with your dad. I often wonder what dreams my folks had, individually, that they never had come true. This is a wonderful haibun…thank you for the opportunity to get to know your dad here. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lynn__ says:

    A heartfelt memory caught here, along with a love-ly haiku…nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This was a lovely haibun, thanks for letting us be a party to some of your happy memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. qbit says:

    Love the Haiku. Put it all together.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Charley says:

    Great combination of memory and haiku. Pitch perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jillys2016 says:

    Captivating narrative! The sound of spring in daydreams – what a beautiful line! Oh yeah, and your Dad’s whistle… I do that one, too. Saves on my voice but my family has learned to duck and cover when they are with me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sumana Roy says:

    Such beautiful narrative! ‘ He’s lived a full life’ This is the most important thing for the child to follow in. Love the Haiku.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. The haiku is as light and happy as your memories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Beautiful memories of your Dad, and a great haiku!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. frankhubeny says:

    Good reminder that one can live a full life even without realizing all one’s dreams.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. jerennazuto says:

    Oh it’s just so beautiful , how you describe his whistling habits and finding out you have more in common, it feels like a dream for me. Sounds like a man who understood life. Great haiku!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Janice says:

    Lovely haiku and memories.

    Like

  18. What a wonderful tribute to your dad, a poem for Father’s Day. But it was the haiku that blew me away. How perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

