Pants on Fire

Tentative truths pass through your lips

a heavy shift in silence follows

your eyes

always give you away

bending your fragile tale

under heavy scrutiny

your cheeks

flush crimson

and I watch

your nose

grow.

 

dVerse – OLN with Grace as the host.

31 comments on “Pants on Fire

  1. lynn__ says:

    Some of us don’t lie very well 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy being a lousy liar… I think we should have such noses.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very clever ! Another idea triggered.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t need 3 guesses. I returned my potus poem to draft, it wasn’t as good as this. It’s the cloud we suffer now. Excellent protest poem. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice. Great ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jillys2016 says:

    I really dig how ‘your eyes’ plays off the line before and the line after – it makes me read and read again to roll the taste around my poetic pallette. Oh yeah, and that title is so stinking fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. seana says:

    Fantastic piece.

    Like

  8. Ah, written like someone who has encountered such a liar. Good thing the nose knows, isn’t it? Well written. I enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ZQ says:

    Poor Bastard! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. MarinaSofia says:

    Certainly could fit a lot of current politicians… but yes, any kind of liar, really. I fear the ones that lie out of conviction though.

    Like

  11. Burst out laughing! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Haha! I love this description of a liar being caught out in slow-motion. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Charley says:

    Delightfully worded. It’s a nice follow-through after the title.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. frankhubeny says:

    Sounds like what it would be like to interrogate Pinocchio.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

