The River

Animas river.JPG

Summer means road trips.  Music, conversation, the letter game with road signs – which I invariably win because everyone else gives up before we’re half way through the alphabet.  The city gives way to open road.  Restlessness gives way to anticipation.   I’m glad to trade the sweltering triple digits of Texas for the cool 80s of Colorado.  The frequent early morning rain showers don’t slow us down. Touristy Durango is equal parts vibrant energy and laid back scenic paradise.  Within walking distance from our hotel door is the Animas River, rushing and rippling over rocks.  Lush green leaves whisper in the breeze.  We take a guided river raft ride.  Our tour guide is a friendly girl named Edith.  I can’t stop looking at her dreadlocks.  Further adventures take us on a ski lift to the alpine slides at the Purgatory Resort.  I’m not a fan of heights and I keep a death grip on the chair.  Somehow I don’t think that will help if anything goes wrong but it gets me through the ride.  On the way out of town, I have to stop and take one last look at the breathtaking views.

Scenic summer trip

mountains rise up in the mist

trailing heart behind

 

dVerse  – the pub is writing summer themed Haibuns this week.

21 comments on “The River

  1. kanzensakura says:

    Oh that river looks so cool and inviting. I lovee this bit of summer weaving you have done. From touristy Durango to the river and views. Excellent write and the haiku at the end is flawless.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Singledust says:

    what a beautiful haibun Lynn! your summer trip covers such amazing landscape and the ebb and flow of feelings just so strong in your words. the haiku has me longing for such an experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jillys2016 says:

    The sensory details of the little things is what makes you such a fabulous writer! (I still play the alphabet game on the road!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Grace says:

    Love the road trips and open roads ~

    Liked by 1 person

  5. frankhubeny says:

    I will have to keep Durango on my list of places to see in Colorado. Our daughter now lives in Colorado Springs which has motivated us to travel more to that state. I also don’t like riding in those ski lifts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      It’s a beautiful place. I hope you do get to see it some day. Colorado Springs, nice! My parents had some friends who used to live there. Oh man, those ski lifts are nerve-racking, for sure. It was an experience but I was glad to be back on the ground once it was over.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lynn__ says:

    I grew up in Denver. Colorado is beautiful! We rode the Silverton/Durango narrow gauge train 🚂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow ! You spoil us Ms Burton.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I’m glad this prompt came up because it gave me the opportunity to write something about where I live/would like to live which you had asked about. I haven’t lived outside of Texas other than being born in South Carolina, but I could totally live in Colorado. Or Ireland. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. breathtaking, Lynn!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m blessed to live in a place like that in the Eastern Sierra, a block from the Truckee River. You describe this so well and make me aware of how much I have for which to be grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love Colorado too.. my brother in law lives in Boulder- but we only visited Durango once. I remember it as a bit hectic, but I did love the walks up in the mountains.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

