Dream

I

I dreamed of you last night

my heart felt joy

for a split second

before it ran cold

 

colder than a mid winter’s night

shroud in darkness

when you passed by

with your hands

firmly attached to her breasts

 

and your eyes searched mine

a knowing look

or a dare to question you

but there are no questions

only certainty

that memories fade

flesh dies

and hearts remain.

 

II

Dreams, what will and will never be

funny how the edges blur

but we see so clearly

 

you ask me if I like the color jade

even in my dream I pause to stay

 

and wonder why you’d ask such a thing

but before the light hits my eyes

I know why it stings

 

Jade is the color of envy.

 

dVerse – OLN with Bjorn as the host.

 

17 comments on “Dream

  1. Wow ! a heart felt intensity that I actually felt.
    I wanted to ‘have words’ with this ****!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That cold green color on envy… it hurts in more way than one I think

    Liked by 1 person

  3. frankhubeny says:

    Nice presentation of jealousy in two parts, the first directly and the second indirectly through the color of jade.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jillys2016 says:

    The voice of this poem lends itself to such a dream-like quality; or rather, a nightmare. You communicated that with the words and structure. I felt off-balanced while reading. Excellent! Keep dreaming 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charley says:

    A green-eyed monster dream/nightmare.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] half.  I must admit, Lynn Burton got me thinking about nightmares with her recent post called Dream and it fed this quite well!  Good luck, […]

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wonderful emotive poem. I like how you wove the color into your poem

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lynn__ says:

    A heartbreaking shade of jade, Lynn! I had wild dreams in younger years; had my share of nightmares…

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I used to have some really scary dreams. Now they’re more like stories but still very strange. My oldest son’s fiancée always asks me what I ate for dinner when I tell her about some dream I’ve had.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

