Fancy Perfume and Twirling Ribbons

Poems can ring, rise upon sun and moon

or bring momentum to an errant flame.

Maybe it falls face first, mangled too soon

its sound wailing against the sting of rain.

 

Dawn will singe your senses, set them all free

perform song and acrobatic dances

cry out in celebration, yours to see

 

Click here to read the details on how you can participate in Jilly’s July Challenge.  These collaborative efforts should be lots of fun.

For my contribution, I’ve started a sonnet in anagram form.  Hopefully this doesn’t make anyone want to run away screaming.  I just figured if I’m going to be challenged, I want to really be challenged.

As a refresher:  a sonnet is a 14-line poem with 3 quatrains and a couplet.  Rhyme scheme is abab/cdcd/efef/gg.  I wrote the first 7 lines, now you write the next 7.

Anagrammatic poetry is simply forming new words from existing ones (the existing words being the title – Fancy Perfume and Twirling Ribbons).  Here’s a better explanation with example, and another example here.

21 comments on “Fancy Perfume and Twirling Ribbons

  1. […] I didn’t manage the anagram bit…but I did complete the sonnet that was begun by colourfulpen. […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jillys2016 says:

    I’m working on it and boy is it TOUGH! I want my D & H, and the V might be nice, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jillys2016 says:

    (Rolling my eyes at myself – nearly finished and NOW I realize the word ‘anD’ is in your title. (You’re killing me, Smalls!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] so for Jilly’s Casting Bricks July poetry challenge, L. Burton did not only a sonnet entitled, Fancy Perfume and Twirling Ribbons, […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] the July Challenge, Lynn (Colorful Pen) put out a double challenge combining two forms.  It proved to be the best work-out I’ve had […]

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] collaboration, this time with Lynn Burton in the July Challenge hosted by Jilly […]

    Liked by 1 person

  7. […] my entry to jilly’s July challenge for completing the poem, Fancy perfume and twirling ribbons by L. Burton from colorfulpen. It was hard and I felt like I went too far away but I hope hope that I kept the direction […]

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jerennazuto says:

    I finished your sonnet and it was indeed very challenging, your thoughts are much appreciated, https://itsallaboutnothingg.wordpress.com/2017/07/09/fancy-perfume-and-twirling-ribbons-jillys-july-challenge/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

