July Challenge – a quadrille

The bird broke
my concentration
when he pecked
the door.

“Anatomy of Melancholy”
from my fingers fell.

Closed, it hit the floor.

When the bird spoke,
he croaked, “It’s you I was looking for.
Sanity to dissect.  Weary evermore.”
I lunged.  The bird soared.

 

For Jilly’s July Challenge Charley offered the first half of a quadrille (here) and I’ve completed it in blue.  A quadrille is a 44-line poem.  Charley wrote the first 22 words, and I wrote the last 22 words.

Collaboration: Charley (Life in Portofino) / L.Burton

 

9 comments on “July Challenge – a quadrille

  1. Nan Mykel says:

    Nice. Do I hear shades of Poe?

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      You do! I tried to keep what I thought Charley was going for in his first half. Even better, I love me some Poe. Nan, there’s an open invitation to the July Challenge if you’d like to join. The more the merrier.

      Like

  2. frankhubeny says:

    That bird is going to be hard to catch. Nice second half.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jillys2016 says:

    Truly laughed out loud! Spot on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Charley says:

    Haha! Oh, this is a wonderful take on this! Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

