July Challenge – Dark Sonnet

The Devil rolls some teeth like dice,
Says your bones are for the gamble —
Wants to know your wager price,
And if the payout you can handle:

He’ll use your ribs for a picket gate,
Ligaments to string a violin’s regret,
Skin to stretch the truth from here to fate,
Back against the wall to make you sweat.

With poison on his breath, he’ll use your arm
For scraps to guard the midnight rail
Up to your neck in wicked charm
Spit him out on his own black trail.

The Devil chokes on your gift of slow bleed
Round up your win, delight in his screams.

 

qbit offered a Dark Sonnet in Jilly’s July Challenge, and this is what I came up with.  When I saw his challenge link over at Jilly’s, I was all, ‘Ooo, dark is my jam.  I can do this’.  Then I read his first half and was pretty sure I couldn’t.  I can only hope I did justice to what was an amazing start to this dark sonnet.

Collaboration:  J.  Randall Brett / L. Burton

11 comments on “July Challenge – Dark Sonnet

  1. qbit says:

    Totally great!! You killed it (so to speak, LOL!) Wonderful, vibrant language and imagery. “Scraps to guard the midnight rail”! Great ending. You did me a great honor to give this a go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jillys2016 says:

    Um… Damn! Keep going back to The Devil chokes on your gift of slow bleed – Yep, dark is your jam, baby!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Can’t help laughing at Colorfulpen’s comment above: so glad it worked out okay! So am I, so am I. If I read the poem correctly, the last lines has it one over Beelzebub, for once. You did Qbit’s effort great justice!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Charley says:

    This was truly in the voice of the first half, and the twist at the end makes it a wonderful payout!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Madaket Muse says:

    Nice job! Picked it right up with the same tone and dark vibe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

