Consumed

Melancholy rises like the steam on coffee
a curling, twisting dance falling down all around
gray skies take their place in a reflection of me
melancholy rises like the steam on coffee
trace the slow motion movement, follow the debris
eerily contained in fog is the loudest sound
melancholy rises like the steam on coffee
a curling, twisting dance falling down all around.

coffee mug steam pinterest.jpg

photo:  Pinterest

A little backstory…my daughter of my heart and I tried to write a novel together years ago.  Of course I ruined it when I went way off in left field but she was too nice to admit it.  We didn’t write together for a while until one of us suggested word prompts.  Lately we’ve been giving each other three words at the end of the week and have a week to write something.  I usually just write a quick haiku and text it to her but I wanted to do something different this time.  Her words to me were: melancholy, coffee, and steam.

 

10 comments on “Consumed

  1. ZurkPoetry says:

    I really like this. Especially I like the fact that no matter who or where we are, we know what steam from coffee looks like, those swirls of tiny water droplets. It’s a tiny fact, but I like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jerennazuto says:

    Those are some nice prompts, I liked how you connected coffee and steam with Melancholy, because usually coffee means bright and active. It has a nice rhythm.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jillys2016 says:

    Loudest sound – uh huh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. frankhubeny says:

    Nice triolet repeating the three words three times.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. feifei says:

    Whoa I love this. Going to get myself a cup of coffee now

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

