Porcelain Moon

Restless silhouette shimmers
under intuitive moon
flames flicker a musical masquerade
bound in porcelain perfection.
Shadows twist open locked doors –
she peppers the journey
with sparks of wild echoes
and spilled whispers
upon grins that could melt
the dancing dawn
and scatter spring storms.

 

dVerse is back from summer break and celebrating their 6th anniversary.  Grace hosts today and asks us to write a quadrille (a 44 word poem) with the word ‘flicker’.

32 comments on “Porcelain Moon

  1. You must be particularly pleased with this piece Lynn ! I was going to pick a favourite phrase but by the time I’d finished there was only an odd ‘the’ left !

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I think 9 times out of 10 I’m unsure if what I write is a hit or a miss. For me, sometimes writing can be like pulling teeth, but in the end, as with this one, I am pleased. It’s better than what I started with before I wrote it which was nothing, ha. Some of it was inspired by a music video I was watching.

      Like

  2. jillys2016 says:

    Funny, I was just reading an article yesterday about how Poe used alliteration to set mood, and here is your excellent poem with alliterative phrases that put us right under that moon! The slyness of the shadow shifts the focus to ‘She’ and moves it all forward beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Janice says:

    Some delicious lines in this. ‘Shadows twist open locked doors’ captures my imagination…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lillian says:

    Beautiful! You’ve used a number of this quadrille cycle prompts in this one. I especially love the title!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glenn Buttkus says:

    You had me at /upon grins that could melt/the dancing dawn/–some clever wordsmithing & lovely imagery here–a fine lively quadrille.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Charley says:

    “…sparks of wild echoes
    and spilled whispers
    upon grins that could melt
    the dancing dawn….”

    This is brilliant! The poem is very well done, but these lines caught me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lynn, quite well done with so many of the words from past quadrilles. Bravo.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. delicious combinations you have flickered into life here

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Grace says:

    Love the weaving of the quadrille words ~ My favorite imagery: flames flicker a musical masquerade-

    Thanks for joining our celebration ~

    Liked by 1 person

  10. love the alliteration in the 3rd line – beautiful read!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Frank Hubeny says:

    I liked this line which stayed with me: “Shadows twist open locked doors”

    Liked by 1 person

  12. “…sparks of wild echoes
    and spilled whispers
    upon grins that could melt
    the dancing dawn….”

    Gorgeous!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Nicely done…using ‘some of the words’ works really well

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

