Take Flight

Day 9 of 28 Days of Unreason

“I love the tracks left by hundreds of species of birds that remain in the air like we do” – Jim Harrison

 

Cacophonous calls
fade to eerie silence
a beating of wings in flight.

Electric blues
the truth we can’t swallow
soundtrack of my mind.

Balancing acts
bend to uneven streets
fill in the blanks with time.
Sharp contrasts
swoop and flutter
perched on the pinnacle of life.

birds-11-5-16 Photo – L. Burton

 

9 comments on “Take Flight

  1. qbit says:

    Oooh, very well done. Subtle, no easy answers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nailed it Lynn ! A nod to Harrison but a classic Burton !

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you, Nigel! The part of the quote that stuck with me was the word ‘tracks’. I thought of it like footprints, or things we leave behind but then the word ‘soundtrack’ came to me and it kind of fell into place.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jillys2016 says:

    Love the electric blues, but the soundtrack of my mind line made me come back and think – a tough chore pre-coffee 🙂 The second stanza brings it home to roost, so to speak. Now we aren’t alking birds anymore. Bravo! And love that picture!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I really liked that quote. Once I stopped thinking of tracks as footprints, or things we leave behind, and the soundtrack idea came to me, I felt like I might have something there.
      Thanks! That’s probably one of my favorite pictures that I’ve snapped.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Charley says:

    All Lynn, indeed! A great write. Harrison just serves to throw off our balance. You took a note and made it your own song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

