Sense of Unreason

Day 10 of 28 Days of Unreason

Much that you see isn’t with your eyes – Jim Harrison

Flavor your words sweet
relish them on your tongue
tied up in warm breath-

less than you deny

not one truth

hurts, but scars
caress the lines
blurred on the pages
of books we’ve read
a hundred times
in the libraries of our mind-

set conjuring tricks aside.

11 comments on “Sense of Unreason

  1. Outstanding, deep layers entice me to re-read and immerse myself in the prose, Like the ‘faucet’ piece I love this !

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I’m so glad you love this! 🙂 It was fun to write.
      Today’s quote is quite inspiring in many ways, so I hope to have something for that soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Because of your recent Harrison posts I’ve ordered some of his work, I noticed how the quotes inspired you and though I can’t put my finger on it there are some subtle differences in the ‘read’ of both this piece and the last which greatly appeal to me even more than your, if that was possible, other work, Free form perhaps ? I dunno .

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        Oh! I’m thrilled you’ll have some of Harrison’s work. I didn’t realize until today just how much he had, and I still need to get a hold of some of it.
        Funny you mention that. I very nearly turned this into one of my favorite short forms but it took on a life of its own. Could be. Maybe they read/feel less restrictive? I love both free verse and forms as you know. I think with forms I like that there’s a clear set of “rules” and then I like to see what I can do with them. Free verse is tons of fun. I like how you can just kind of run with them.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jillys2016 says:

    At the end of the poem my eyes went back up to the title for the wholeness of it; there is a sense of ureason in the whole piece that is disquieting in a most marveous way. Love the libraries of our mind – how much truth and what a beautiful turn of phrase. The final line of the poem is its Bam! moment. Good stuff, Lynn!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charley says:

    Enjambment special, extra irony please! Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

