Nature of Unreason

Day 22 of 28 Days of Unreason

 
“Nature detonates your mind with the incalculable freshness of the new day” – Jim Harrison

Fiery orange sunlight

bursts through the cracks
in your heavy-lidded eyes.
The pulse of the day thunders
across bones that would splinter
if not for the blooming

row of daffodils
just outside, and the robin that sings
sweetly
while a dragonfly darts passed
only for a moment
a moment
dawns.

 

 

9 comments on “Nature of Unreason

  1. Suyash says:

    Nice poem
    check mine out once
    its not as godd as yours
    but its nice
    https://deadpoetssocielty.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jerennazuto says:

    Beautiful way to talk about the morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, a subtle change of style and tempo, really lovely read Lynn, still the Burton imagery I love though. Yes, more please !

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you, Nigel. So glad you like it! Spent some time enjoying nature today, just observing, listening. Something I should do more often.

      Liked by 1 person

      • As soon as I stop ‘seeing’ Lynn and realise I’m only looking then I know I have re-ground myself somehow, music, nature, film (Islay malt Whisky hee hee) just not writing .

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        Exactly! I even sense it in my writing, the staleness if I’m not doing some of those other things. I tend to be a slave to the laptop so if you see that staleness, just tell me to ‘get outside’ or something. 🙂 Islay malt Whisky?! Now I’m thirsty.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. jillys2016 says:

    Bursts, pulse, thunders, splinters – Great words; so stong. You blend the power and the subtleness of the beauty so well. I agree with the above comments; we need to get away from the laptop to connect with the source of inspiration. Grass between our toes and the mixed scents of the natural world can reinvent us as poets.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

