Painting

The online event calendar held endless opportunities.  After finding one that suited me,  I circled the date on my own calendar, secured my place in the class, and eagerly awaited the end of the week.  The instruction would be a Breakfast at Tiffany’s inspired painting. Not flowers or trees or a beach scene, although those appealed to me, too.  I went for something that seemed easy enough for a first painting class. 

Wine flowed among the attendees while a local artist gave step-by-step instructions.  I got a boost of confidence when he stopped beside me and complimented my use of color.  A different section of painting, and feeling less secure in my efforts, I faltered, brush poised over the canvas.  He said, “Don’t be afraid of it.” I realized my over-active inner critic, and her best friend Perfectionist, had shown up to the painting party.  I also let his words swirl like the red liquid before me.  It didn’t have to be perfect.  Nor was it going to be.  In fact, one of the gloved hands of my ‘Holly’ turned out looking like a pointed lobster claw instead of rounded fingers.  Upon returning home, I proudly displayed the painting with all its numerous, clumsy flaws in my study.  

Varied blushstrokes
bubble up in wine glasses
Fall onto a stained canvas.

 

dVerse – We’re writing about wabi-sabi – the art of imperfection – on this Haibun Monday.

14 comments on “Painting

  1. …….and yet so endearing ! I think to be able to accept and expose our flaws is an amazing ability that can ultimately only bring good things. Lovely read Lynn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Frank Hubeny says:

    The stained canvas, perfect in its own stained way, getting brushstrokes of any kind is better than not getting them at all. Nice haibun.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I paint when I have a chance and it is definitely a canvas for imperfection and that is what makes it so appealing. I hope you keep up with it–perfectionism (my disease) can absolutely ruin a painting. I have some hidden away to prove it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jillys2016 says:

    Wait – where’s the painting? I want a picture of the painting! (JK) I enjoy your ‘friends’ Inner Critic and Perfectionist – they do tend to hover about, don’t they! We shoo them away, but …. Nice writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

