Nature’s Invitation

Day 24 of 28 Days of Unreason

“Nature has portals rather than doors” – Jim Harrison

Doors invite death,
hanging loosely
by rusted hinges
and keys that cringe
because they don’t fit.

Nature gateways
the wide open embrace of sky
too many trees I can’t name
but they whisper just the same.
Sunsets dive on rippling lakes.
Grass tickles underfoot.
New paths rise up
reaching out a hand to meet –
nature’s offering.



sunset
Photo – L. Burton

dVerse – OLN

19 comments on “Nature’s Invitation

  1. Nailed it ! Love opening lines, mystery, intrigue, seed sown and then quickly left to do it’s work while the piece seamlessly flows into a beautiful celebration of nature as a portal.
    Just had another read Lynn and that change of style is there again. I think it’s the use of simpler descriptive imagery, you seem to be able to convey the image more effectively and intensely with less yet it’s still a classic Burton piece ! Fascinating, a very impressive piece.

    Liked by 2 people

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you, Nigel. I wasn’t sure where I wanted this one to end, or where it wanted to end, rather. Leaving it at the whispering trees seemed unfinished somehow.
      Have you received the Harrison book yet?

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, I ordered a book of Frank Stamford’s work at the same time and there’s a delay on that one . I’m looking at Matthew Sweeney’s poetry at the moment and don’t know what I think of it. It’s good but leaves me cold my old imagination/intellect rule says it’s only my intellect that’s stimulated which would explain my feelings over his stuff.

        Liked by 2 people

      • colorfulpen says:

        Ah, okay. I’d love to know your thoughts when it does arrive. Stamford and Sweeney, more to add to my ever-growing list of poets to check out.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jillys2016 says:

    So, now that school is back in swing for me, I’m likely to read your work at 5:30 .m. over coffee, click the Like button and then let the words swirl around in my head during the day. 12 hours later I reread and it just gets so much better! Doors invite death – that line is like the best poetic hook ever! Love the contrast between the two things and how your poem unfolds to the deep sigh of a portal. Every day, Lynn, you amaze me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Ah, where did summer go?! I often do the same thing; come back to a poem later for a reread. I’m glad you liked that first line. Probably one of my favorites. Thank you so much! These quotes have certainly stretched me poetically.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kanzensakura says:

    Yes indeed. A wonderful poem about life and death. Ad this brings to mine one of my favorite quotes from Jim Morrison: There are things known and things unknown and in between are the doors. I like the contrasts in this, the touches with nature.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rosross says:

    The seasons inspire, nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. qbit says:

    “death,/ hanging loosely / by rusted hinges” Terrific!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Frank Hubeny says:

    I liked the distinction you made between doors and portals. Doors having hinges and locks does seem to distinguish them from a portal which is open but not always visible. I suspect that is what Harrison meant as well, but who knows?

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Yes, these quotes make one dig deep for the meaning. I was thinking that being behind doors can lead to death; in a physical sense, and also death of creativity maybe, or any number of things, if we don’t get out and connect with nature. Nature is a portal, inviting, free of any restrictions. No locks. It’s just there. We have to show up and be aware.

      Like

  7. Sue Anderson says:

    Yes, but I also like to think of doors as potential openings to new beginnings, a kind of opportunity for redirection. Sometimes I have to see a door closed in front of me to move beyond it, if that makes sense. Having said that, nature’s portals are life-giving.

    Like

  8. Grace says:

    I like the quote and the theme of life and death ~ Nature is a great teacher here ~

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Every line is a treasure. A song of nature filled with hope!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

