The Stars

Day 26 of 28 Days of Unreason

“On some clear nights in the country the stars can exhaust us” – Jim Harrison

Clearly, the stars plow
through fairy tales unseen
can’t escape
their knowing winks
or the gravity
that defines
you and me.

11 comments on “The Stars

  1. I LIKE ! Gravity defines, gravity as in serious or literal I wonder, fairy tales unseen ? lovely enigmatic ‘thinker’ Lynn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      Thank you, Nigel. Gravity defines could go either way, or both. There’s a certain song that gets stuck in my head every time I write about stars, so that might be where the fairy tales come from. Also, maybe the stars know a lot more than we do. The quote was a tough one, although I don’t think it should’ve been. I’ve wrestled with this poem for far too many hours.

      Like

  2. jillys2016 says:

    Stars plow through fairy tales unseen – unique thought. I like it… makes me think. I grappled with this quote way too long, as well. Curious – what’s the song?

    Liked by 1 person

    • colorfulpen says:

      I had the first line and liked it. The ‘country’ part of the quote stuck out to me and I was thinking ‘plow’ in the sense that you’d plow a field, and tried to add some star references (other than the two I have) but full blown country mode wasn’t working and just seemed boring. For me, plow also kind of has a forceful feel to it, and I decided to keep it. It seemed to fit with the exhausting part of the quote, and how the stars might know more than we do before we know it. The song is ‘Away with the Stars’ by 12 Dirty Bullets. I listen to them quite a bit, so I guess it’s natural some of it sneaks into my writing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jillys2016 says:

        I went searching for the song and couldn’t find it on YT by them… The word plow, as a verb, is really strong; glad you used it that way. Time spent in the north conjures images of giant snowplows.

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        First time I looked for it, I found it mistitled as ‘Young Girl’ on muzutv. I’d just search for the band name alone. That should pull it up; wrong title and all. 🙂 Anyway, I like it. It’s an acoustic piece and I dig his voice.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jillys2016 says:

        Found it! Love his voice. I need to hear more of this. Thanks for pointing him out. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • colorfulpen says:

        He does have a great voice, very gritty and raw. Some of the music is hard to find. Not sure if it’s because they’re an indie band or what, but their two albums are ‘Riddles’ and ‘Downsides to Making a Living’ if that helps at all. There might be a third album, but I’m not entirely sure as I can’t find it now; thought I’d seen it somewhere before. A lot of the songs are harder than the one I shared with you, but still they have a unique sound that I really like.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jillys2016 says:

        Hmmm – will look for them. The indie stuff can be hard to find, can’t it?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Charley says:

    “Starman” by Bowie? 🙂 Probably not! Love this… the stars parading through someone’s fairy tale, mucking things up with their gravity (either pull harder or cheer up!). I’ll get the puzzle of this poem figured out yet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

